Medical follow-up

Received word via the post (that’s old-fashioned talk for “paper mail” but you probably knew that) that the results of my MRI on the lower spine were, and I’m quoting here, “normal.” I was a bit nonplused, really. But it’s probably good, because I have to think any problem found in an MRI would’ve required something invasive to fix, which I really don’t want to undergo. It’s just that I still hurt, and I still limp. So … guess I need to make a phone call Monday for another doctor’s appointment to see what’s next.

In better news, just watched Fleet Foxes play on the TV show Austin City Limits. Very nice, very nice.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Medical follow-up

  1. maxauburn says:

    I’m glad the MRI revealed all is normal is inside you.

    Yeah, I guess you’ll have to undergo more tests.

    Good luck to you.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks, Jerry. I guess it’s good because anything the MRI would’ve found would probably have been relatively serious, I think, as in surgery-related. And I don’t want back surgery. Especially since I don’t think this is really a back-related thing.

      I just hate having to go to the doctor, of course. Who likes it?

  2. kenny2fl says:

    back problems

    Have you tried a chiropracter? I think most of them are ok & anything is better than surgery.
    I have had back problems and there are theraputic solutions. Also back problems frequently also aggravate the ciatic nerve [which can be excutiating].
    I couldn’t even walk when I went to my 1st visit to a chiro 5 yrs ago. I’m fine now. There are tricks and exercises and massage can help as well. Some do accupuncture — I’ve never tried that.

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: back problems

      I have a co-worker who’s been trying to talk me into seeing a chiropractor for a while now. 🙂 I’m considering it, but at the moment the problem seems to be in the hip, not the back. My co-worker says that a chiropractor can handle more than backs, of course, so this might be worth checking into. My fear about chiropractic has been the possibility of needing adjustments at regular intervals forever. But that could be something like an old wives’ tale.

      I dunno. I’m trying to figure out what to do. The pain slowly decreases, day by day, but I don’t think that means the problem is going away. So something should be done, but in the meantime it’s easy to keep doing normal everyday life things.

Leave a Reply

