Medical update

Sure isn’t November anymore, is it? Y’know, back when I was writing a post a day. I’m having writer’s block lately. Maybe I’ll write about medical stuff for a minute.
     I mentioned a few posts ago that I had developed significant pain in from my left hip all the way down the leg to my foot. After about two weeks taking meds, I went back to the doctor; things had improved, but pain was still there, which had triggered other pains and a limp. I saw my doctor’s associate, since my doctor was away, and the associate prescribed an MRI. I got that done Monday evening. That was certainly the weirdest medical test I’ve ever had.
     I don’t know the difference between “open MRI” and the regular variety. The office advertised they have open MRI, but I still had to be slid into a tube that surrounded me 360 degrees; only the end was open, which turned out to be a very good thing. I barely fit into the tube, and though I’m not really claustrophobic, I do panic over not being able to get out of tight spots (so maybe I am claustrophobic, I dunno). I had turned down a sedative because “Oh, I’ll be fine,” then got very spooked when I had to get squeezed to get in the machine. Once I got in there, though, I was able to move my arms so I was less squeezed, and I was so far back that I could look out the end and see windows and the ceiling. Other than the first five minutes, I was pretty calm.
     The noises, though. Let me say: Worst minimalist musical score EVER. And that’s with earplugs.
     They gave me a disc of the images, which I’m going to animate and put on YouTube. No, I guess I give that to the doctor. They’re going to have a radiologist interpret the results and send the report to the doctor; I think that’ll be the more valuable output from this exercise. I’m going to call today or tomorrow to find out when I see my doctor for the results.
     In the meantime, there’s still pain, but I can sit longer than before. It still feels, when I roll over on my left side, that there’s something in the hip that shouldn’t be there, which presses on nerves and things. My theory (I’m not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV) is that there’s bursitis in that hip. I do hope the doctor will look into that. He might be more focused on the back, which may well have caused problems farther afield, but the back does not hurt this time, for once.
     Constant pain is, well, a pain. I’m doing almost everything I usually do, though cardio at the gym is restricted (won’t do treadmill because of the limping, for one thing). But pain weighs on one’s mind as well as one’s body. I’ll be happy when it goes away. Or, at least, happier.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Medical update

  1. maxauburn says:

    The MRI: I have heard it gets very claustrophobic in those. You did better than I would have- I get panic attacks when I’m in a small space.

    I wish you didn’t have the pain; I know how it can spoil the good things, and wreck an otherwise lovely day.

    Hang in there. Hoping it gets better soon for you.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks, Jerry. The pain is waning but some of the other symptoms aren’t changing. Well, maybe next week the doctor will tell me something.

      They offered a sedative. I drove myself, so I don’t think I could’ve taken it. But I thought I wouldn’t have any trouble. Ha. Well, it worked out OK, anyway. But the option was there.

Leave a Reply

