Use these words, instead!

Wayne State University in Detroit has a campaign named Word Warriors, which aims to “Bring Back Great Words.” I learned about it from an article at Channel 4’s news website. If you’re inclined, you can transmogrify your speech with this year’s winners, though your friends might find it antediluvian. Do not truckle to their objections. Though reviving these jewels of words seems a Sysephean task, you will come to find your erstwhile word choices execrable by comparison.

Between Lake Superior State University and Wayne State, Michigan will get the language fixed up right proper in no time.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Use these words, instead!

  1. I use penultimate every chance I get.

    I’m also a big fan of sisyphean.

    Good list.

    • songdogmi says:

      It was a good list. I liked quite a few of them.

      I went back to their 2010 list, and saw they had “antediluvian” then too. Guess it’s a doubly good word.

  2. zenicurean says:

    But… but I already use lots of those! Including antediluvian! They don’t need bringing back, they never left!

Leave a Reply

