Reentry

Today was the first day back to work since last year. Well, you know. I used to take off the whole time between Christmas and New Year’s, but the last few years I’ve worked a couple of days in between to make sure things are covered at the office. I worked just Tuesday and Wednesday last week, so I had a five-day break. Work wasn’t too bad today, but January will be a busy month because I have a couple of new projects in addition to the usual stuff. Nothing long-term, just a couple of directories whose turn has come up in my in-box.

We finally have cold and a little snow, appropriate for the season, but there hasn’t been much accumulation yet. We need snow this year, because my nephew’s boss invested in equipment to plow streets and parking lots. My nephew gets paid when it snows, so we’ll all have to suffer so his family stays fed. Hope that’s OK with you locals.

I have about eleventy projects and things I want to do these days. It’s a challenge to pick one and not worry about all the others. I’m glad to be back in that state, though, because the holiday season pretty much banished fun thoughts like projects from my head.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reentry

  1. maxauburn says:

    Now you can get into those projects!

    It’s 20 degrees here, yuck!

    • songdogmi says:

      The problem is, when I work on one project, I can’t work on another. If I’m writing songs I can’t take photos. If I’m cleaning the kitchen I can’t organize the bills. I can work on my geneaology but then I can’t write poems or work out or or or — There’s just too much. AAAAAAAAGH

      No, I don’t have ADD. Well, maybe Internet-diagnosed ADD.

      In other news, our high here was 25 yesterday, but it’s in the 30s now. And they’ve now taken snow completely out of the forecast for the next week.

  2. changeling72 says:

    Although a long break is lovely, I do find it makes coming back to reality more of a culture shock.

    • songdogmi says:

      Especially the longer breaks. Five days is hard, a week and a half is really hard. I used to take three-week vacations, and it was as if I needed to be retrained in how to come to work again after them.

Leave a Reply

