Put down that word — it has been banned!

Thank you in advance for reading this year’s amazing statement on the new normal in language from Lake Superior State University, which has released its List of Words Banished from the Queen’s English for Misuse, Overuse and General Uselessness for 2012. It is hoped you will find this list a ginormous help as you strive to win the future.

…no, I can’t keep that sort of thing up. There are five entries from the list in that paragraph, and my skin hasn’t stopped crawling yet. And I couldn’t even find a way to work in “baby bump”; I simply couldn’t.

The news feed from my ISP ran an article today about the list, now in its 37th edition. I wrote about last year’s list, too.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Put down that word — it has been banned!

  1. chaosdancer says:

    Trickeration??? They say it’s overused but I’ve never heard it before. Shows how much I watch sports shows. Trickeration, like tricksy decoration? As in “Ha ha, you didn’t know those holly branches were carnivorous!” Or as in what the government paid to the Native Americans? “You thought we were making reparations but that money was covered in smallpox germs, just like the good old days!”

    Trickeration. I’m amazingly unsure whether I love it or hate it. I’m certainly going to be on the lookout for it.

    • songdogmi says:

      I hadn’t heard it myself, and I’ve watched way more football in the last year than I probably should admit. My friend Dave, who’s visiting at the moment, also said he hadn’t heard it. Maybe it’s a word thought to be so poor that it was heard once and that was too much. I’ll have to keep an ear out for it, too.

  2. maxauburn says:

    Mancave does sound kinda dumb.

    Men haven’t lived in caves for at least 12,000 years or so.

    Baby bump does, too.

    Makes it sound like you’ve just run over a baby, which made a bump.

    I like Pet Parent, because I am one.

  3. zenicurean says:

    I kinda dislike “winning the future” on principle. As a phrase it was already magnificently useless as a Newt Gingrich book title, and Obama repeatedly dropping it in the SotU address didn’t give it a shred more content, either.

    • songdogmi says:

      “Winning the future” sounds more like something Charlie Sheen would say, which automatically disqualifies it from the list of reasonable things to say. Why Obama’s handlers allowed him to use it so much is mystifying.

  4. kenny2fl says:

    Darn! I’ve always wanted one of those mancave things — now it’s been taken away.

Leave a Reply

