LJ Year in Review

First, here’s wishing everyone a better year this time, even if last year was good for you already. While I can’t say the story of my mom’s bypass surgery has a happy ending yet, it is perking along happily. My friend Dave was horrified to learn that, not only is there a subgenre of mystery fiction known as cat mysteries, there are three prominent examples featuring five intrepid felines. OK, that’s the best I can do for April Fool’s Day. Explosion in Warren levels building. For the last few weeks, I’ve been working on genealogy quite a bit. So here’s the thing… you’re away from things for a little while, maybe even out of town. I’ll throw this out first: Web Will Win in Cyber War. I have to say that it strikes me as preposterous that I own a tree. The creative class is a lie: The dream of a laptop-powered “knowledge class” is dead. One year ago, on the first Tuesday of November, 2010, I substituted for the inestimable jjfmi as host of what turned out to be the last night of his open mic at AJ’s Music Cafe in Ferndale. This is a photo I took in June of 1988 and only recently scanned it to make a file for Flickr.

… First sentence from the first LJ post of each month, arranged paragraph style, as I did last year. In two cases, the first sentence was actually a hyperlink so it’s someone else’s sentence, technically. If you know the stories behind each sentence, the paragraph reflects the year pretty well, but in this context it’s a little obscure—but I think that’s the charm.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LJ Year in Review

  1. maxauburn says:

    That’s very clever! And pretty cool!

    Happy 2012 to you, too!

    • songdogmi says:

      Anyone can do it! It’s easy! Seriously, I’ve seen one or two other LJers do it this year already. But there’s still a few days to do it.

      Happy 2012 to you, too!

Leave a Reply

