A parody in time for the season

This is sung to the tune of “Jingle Bells.” Yeah, like that song needed another parody, but I couldn’t stop myself. I started coming up with it while shopping with my mom on Monday afternoon, and finished the rest of it at John’s open mic that evening. I want make a video of me singing this, but I haven’t had a chance to do that yet and it’ll probably be too late (i.e. after Christmas) when I can.

Chorus 1:
Merry Christmas shopping time, now we’ll have some fun
Shopping malls and online stores, that’s how this thing is done
Merry Christmas shopping time, toys in every store
If you have some dollars left, you really should spend more.

Santa’s at the mall, with kids lined out the door
They all want something Disney and a spiffy iPhone 4
Don’t buy them any sled, it won’t come with Wi-Fi
A Playstation will keep them warm and there’s always games to buy

(Repeat Chorus 1)

A day or two ago, I thought I’d take a ride
But then I went on Amazon, didn’t have to go outside
Tradition’s very nice, I’ll download some today
Jingle bells are well and good, but no one owns a sleigh

Chorus 2:
Merry Christmas shopping time, now we’ll have some fun
Going bankrupt buying stuff, that’s how the thing is done
Merry Christmas shopping time, gifts for one and all
Oh what fun it is to buy! We’re going to the mall!

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A parody in time for the season

  1. maxauburn says:

    I like those lyrics!

    Merry Christmas!

  2. changeling72 says:

    Very apt! I’ll look forward to seeing the video.

  3. zenicurean says:

    Tradition’s very nice, I’ll download some today

    Hehe, perfect!

    Merry Cultmas!

  4. kenny2fl says:

    parody

    That fairly well captures the American Holiday spirit!

Leave a Reply

