Oh, yeah, music, that’s kinda cool, I remember…

Don’t look now, but I actually went to an open mic night on Monday. And I played. jjfmi is hosting a biweekly open mic at Mentobe Cafe in Farmington (it’s pronounced “Meant To Be,” as opposed to, say, “Men-tobe”). Monday is a hard night for me because I usually meet my trainer at the gym on Mondays, but I rearranged things this week so I could go, and I’m glad I did. I played three songs, two of mine and one of not-mine, and they came off pretty well. I had wanted to rehearse a little, but never found the time, what with all the holiday stuff. Most of the other performers were people I was unfamiliar with, but they were all good. And the venue is very nice, with a fine menu and a cozy interior, right in downtown Farmington.

After the show, John and I went to Cowley’s (“John Cowley’s Public House”, as I called it last night; think that was the full formal name at one point in time), practically next door, for Killian’s, food and conversation. We had such a good time that I was totally surprised to find it was 11:40 when I got back to my car. On a work night, even!

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oh, yeah, music, that’s kinda cool, I remember…

  1. maxauburn says:

    That’s great! I know you love to play your
    music- and you did!! 🙂

    It must make you feel terrific!

  2. changeling72 says:

    Sounds fun. Glad you had a good time.

  3. jjfmi says:

    And you sounded great! Gotta do this more often, y’know… 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I’m hearing something like that a lot too, but it’s hard to make my body remember it. They say it takes two weeks or so to retrain the body to sit properly. I know I’m not doing it now — apparently it’s very hard to sit correctly on a couch. Bummer; I really like this couch.

Leave a Reply

