I finally have a tree with lights on it. No ornaments, but hey. Finally started writing out Christmas cards. I have a couple of gifts purchased but no idea what to get several people. I do have a pretty serious case of SAD, but I don’t think I can regift that.

I’d share a photo of the tree, but it will look just like it did last year.

There needs to be either another week between today and tomorrow, or the next week removed entirely so we skip right to the 26th. Silly me, I thought the season was going to go better this year.

One high point was going to Finvarra’s Wren’s Solstice show at Mama’s Coffeehouse (Birmingham Unitarian Church) last night. Good music from friends is always good.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. maxauburn says:

    I like your tree.

    As for the SAD… *ULTRA-HUGS*

  2. kenny2fl says:

    Solstice show

    The Unitarian Solstice sounds like a worthy event.
    I rather like the notion of putting the soul back in Solstice.

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Solstice show

      It is really cool. The band, Finvarra’s Wren, moves it every year, which is probably in the interest of the venues involved. The alternate location has long been The Ark in Ann Arbor, though last year it was at the music hall in Hartland (way northwest of here) where they have a Celtic music series. The show fits very well at Birmingham Unitarian Church, though. The people there are very supportive.

      Two highlight songs of the show are their version of Pete Seeger’s “Old Devil Time,” and “Auld Lang Syne” sung to an old melody that’s a good bit different from the Guy Lombardo version we all know. Those two alone put the soul in, for me.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Go you! Congratulations. A credit is a good start.

Leave a Reply

