Comparison shopping taken to a new low

Some friends on Facebook linked to an article in Gawker about a new Amazon thing that, effectively, encourages one to go to a bricks-and-mortar store, find an item there, and then go home without it to buy it from Amazon. I just confirmed it by reading Amazon’s press release about the deal. Gawker plays this up a bit, beginning with a rubric “Evil” at the very top. Yet it is, at best, kicking traditional retail while its down, especially mom-and-pop stores. Of course we knew people would go to a store to look at items they would later buy online; I’m not that naive. It just doesn’t seem sporting that Amazon went public to promote this practice.

Not long ago, I would’ve yelled and stomped and said “I’m never shopping at Amazon again!” but these days, if I did that any time any company announced something nefarious or at least with unintended consequences… well, I’d have a lot more money, that’s for sure. Doesn’t mean I’m not unhappy about this. It’s just one more indication to me that this ain’t the world I thought I signed up for.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comparison shopping taken to a new low

  1. kenny2fl says:

    shopping

    Can’t fight it. I just try to give some support to the locals & buy USA stuff if possible.

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: shopping

      I’ve been trying to come up with local-sourced gifts, but it’s kind of hard since my family seem to like mass-produced stuff. This weekend is going to be my major shopping weekend, which gives me a couple of days to put a plan together.

Leave a Reply

