Another Saturday Night

With the latest DDOS against LJ yesterday, it was just easier to give posting a rest. Things seem to be mostly OK now, just occasionally erratic.

I added a comment to the last post with the iris photo. Thanks to the folks who posted (georgelicious replied with her mum’s answer via Facebook when LJ was attacked the most.) If I had to make a final determination between Siberian iris and blue flag, I would choose … “pretty.”

Started throwing together a list of Christmas gift ideas for my family. It’s pretty hard, as usual. The thing each of them needs the most, lots of money, is the thing I can’t give them. Maybe they’ll like some nice socks. Funny thing is, I was able to come up with a big list of things they can give me. Of course. Though it’s not as if I need a lot more stuff, anyway. My house is kinda full as it is.

I discovered my DVD player is really not working now. It takes a disc, plays between four and fifteen seconds, then freezes. It’s an HD DVD player, acquired about three months before Toshiba threw in the towel on the format, ceding the ground to Blu-Ray. So there’s no reason to get this fixed. On the other hand, I realized that my new laptop has an HDMI port, and thus can be connected to the TV to play DVDs. Not only that, I could watch YouTube videos and, well, all sorts of Web things. It’s like one of those newfangled home entertainment systems. Welcome to the 21st century, Charlie. I know I’ll catch up with the rest of you sooner or later.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Saturday Night

  1. maxauburn says:

    What and where is an HDMI port?

    What does it look like???

    • songdogmi says:

      It’s wider than a USB port. The outer edge forms a narrow rectangle, but the lower corners are indented so the cable fits in only one way. I was going to get a photo of mine but didn’t manage it yesterrday, so here’s a pretty good pic of one. On my laptop its on the side, but on my DVD player it’s in the back where the other connection ports are.

Leave a Reply

