Me and You and a Bear Named Boo

Three juvenile bears are making a trip from the Alaska Zoo in Anchorage to the Detroit Zoo this week, according to ClickOnDetroit.com (a.k.a. Channel 4 news here). They were rescued in Alaska and housed at the zoo there temporarily while a permanent home was sought. I’m not entirely sure what species of bear they are, as the article above calls them brown bears but the Detroit Zoo’s press release website called them grizzlies. Anyway, the photo on the news article shows some very large though young bears enjoying snow in a fetching way. I guess they’re still “cubs” but they look very large already. Their names are Boo, Thor, and Mike.

The Detroit Zoo also has two new red pandas — very new, as in born just this July. They went on display for the first time this month. I have found no media reports, presumably because all viewers have been struck mute from the excessive cute. Their names are R.J. and Hammy.

I’d love to link to pages at the Detroit Zoo’s website, but their site isn’t all that user-friendly and there’s no good way to link to an entire press release (which you’d think would be kind of a priority, really). Maybe I’ll just have to go to the zoo myself and do some “investigative journalism.” Well, OK, here’s the link to all 2011 press releases; you’ll find items there about the bears and pandas.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

