30 in 30

Here is my thirtieth post for November. Not quite the same as writing a 50,000 word novel (or 50,000 words of a novel) but not bad. This is about the equivalent of three months’ worth of postings given what I was doing the previous year or so. The whole point, for me, was to make LJ better, if only for myself. It was only kind of a vague idea at the end of October; I wasn’t sure what I was going to do, really. A different idea was in the lead at the time. I won’t spill the beans on that, because I hope to do that and explain it better soon. (It’s not creepy, honest.)

I give a good part of the credit to my newest LJ friend quickcasey. He’s a friend of altivo‘s; I once confided to Altivo that I regularly read his friends list, which made Altivo comment that I must get really bored. 🙂 I’m sure he meant that it might be boring to read the journals of people I didn’t know anything about. But that’s the source of my interest in reading LJs; I’ve read and kept up with a lot of people who I’ve never met over the last nine years. Anyway, quickcasey had two ideas at the beginning of the month: he was going to post every day, and he wanted to gather more friends in LJ, because he, like I, was concerned about LJ’s future. I thought those were two fine ideas. So here we are.

From here, I’m not exactly sure what I’ll be doing. I will continue to post pretty frequently, though maybe not every day — there’ll be posts more days than not, I expect. There’s that other idea I mentioned previously. And I want to try to make more comments in my friends’ journals.

I know I said this about a month ago, but thanks to you-all, for being here and writing and reading.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30 in 30

  1. Anonymous says:

    Well done, though I have little hope for it doing much to save LJ. As an “exile” myself, I find I have no regrets about having left the place. This has nothing to do with the friends I’ve made here and everything to do with the many repeated management blunders.

    I cherish the folks I’ve met through LJ, and still hope to meet many more of them in person eventually.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks, friend. I have to admit that the new attack on LJ is making me wonder, again, whether I need to implement a Plan B of some sort. There’s that, and it seems that despite my efforts (ha), the decline in posting across LJ, at least in English, continues to decline. I’m doing what I can, but it’s not as if I can encourage people to stay and use LJ when there are both attractive nuisances elsewhere and serious issues here. Not that my point was to encourage, unless in a passive way by providing an example.

      I likewise am very glad for the people I know through LJ, and would be happy to meet at least some in the flesh someday.

      • Anonymous says:

        Remember that Dreamwidth is a viable option. It also has the advantage of being able to import your entire LJ history, comments and all. If you need an invitation to set up an account, I have plenty. (I don’t remember who all I’ve given them to in the past, but if I gave you one and you haven’t used it, I can give you another.) At this point I’m concerned that LJ may just cease to exist one day, and the entire history we built here will vanish.

        Some people seem to think that Facebook or Twitter or Google+ are suitable replacements, but I prefer Dreamwidth because it works just like LJ. You can even set it to automatically post to both places for you.

  2. maxauburn says:

    Congrats on writing a post every day for November 2011!

    I enjoy your posts and look forward to them.

    I’ve been work at posting more often, myself.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks, Jerry! I’m glad you like my posts. I kicked up my game a little in November, so to speak, and it worked out pretty well.

      Good luck with your posting. I’m happy to read what you post.

Leave a Reply

