OWS and the police: Or maybe not more than cleaning out parks?

But then there’s this, which I found via Twitter:

Naomi Wolf’s ‘Shocking Truth’ About the ‘Occupy Crackdowns’ Offers Anything but the Truth Naomi Wolf’s latest theory veers wildly from the known facts.
… in which an AlterNet senior editor attempts to debunk the Guardian article I linked to in my last post, along with a blog post that I didn’t link to. I have to be honest, at a few moments I thought “How could you be that naive?” as I read the AlterNet piece, but I suppose one could think “How could you be that cynical?” about the Guardian piece. We’re very good now at seeing clandestine plotting in just about everything government-related. (Thank you, Richard Nixon.) What is one to believe, anyway?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OWS and the police: Or maybe not more than cleaning out parks?

  1. My original comment still stands. The OWS folks have gotten a taste of political action. Many of the younger folks at the OWS protests have NEVER participated in any form of political speech prior to this.

    I know that I learned a TON of stuff from participating in the local actions and I was also able to teach a bunch of the younger attendees a bunch of stuff about political action.

    Whether the police kick the protesters out or not is irrelevant now. There are millions of younger people who understand the political process WAAAAYYYY better than they did in August and they will continue to be politically active now — albeit in other ways.

    The class is over. Kick us out of the classroom if you want to. Makes no difference.

    • songdogmi says:

      I think you’re right. This is the first large-scale public form of dissent in the U.S. in quite a long time, and as such has been fairly wide-ranging an experience. That it’s been a good learning and teaching experience is actually good to hear.

      My main concern is that there seems to be a dearth of leaders, meaning recognizable faces, coming out of the movement so far. But it’s still early, and from what I can tell they’re trying very hard to not be a cult of personality. For that matter, few existing “names” have been attracted to the cause. Not that it’s desirable for OWS to be co-opted by politicians, but I’d think people like Kucinich and Nader are more or less on their side, but silent. (Then again, it’s not as if Ron Paul is terribly buddy-buddy with the Tea Party, either, when I think about it.)

      • animist says:

        I’m surprised the OWS people have not been cooped by the Democratic Party as foot soldiers the way the Tea Party have been converted in to cannon fodder by The Republican Party. As far as the AlterNet thing goes, True Beleivers are not going to let the Obama administration take any blame, are they?

Leave a Reply

