OWS and the police: More than just cleaning out a few parks?

I’ve avoided political news this November while doing the post-a-day project. But this seems important:

The shocking truth about the crackdown on Occupy: The violent police assaults across the US are no coincidence. Occupy has touched the third rail of our political class’s venality

This is going around Facebook amongst my more politically progressive friends. The knock against Occupy Wall Street early on was that they didn’t know what they wanted, or at least couldn’t articulate it. Hell, even I believed that. Thing is, they knew what they wanted: It was just some of the stuff that you’re never supposed to seriously question if you’re American. It upsets certain people. The article “connects the dots” (as it says) to explain why there was a sudden, apparently coordinated, and frequently violent dismantling of OWS encampments around the country in the last week or so.

I suggest reading the article. If it is right, we should be considerably more troubled than we appear to be.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OWS and the police: More than just cleaning out a few parks?

  1. maxauburn says:

    I just read that article.

    Man! That is scary!!

  2. chaosdancer says:

    You’ve seen this cartoon, right? That pretty much sums it up. I’ve been following the developments pretty closely and it’s always seemed clear to me what they wanted, from the “smelly hippies” right down to the WWII vets with the “I’m still fighting for my country” signs. But there’s been a lot invested in confusing the issue.

  3. animist says:

    They could always take a page from occupy Louisville, who seems to confine their marches to the friendly part of town. They like to march through the Highlands and rally at Douglas Loop (where Ear-Xtacy used to be). Of course, the same people a year ago were there protesting Mubarak’s Egypt, and he was kicked out of power. So maybe they are on to something?

    • songdogmi says:

      The beginning of the Occupy movement in Detroit was going to be at the park in front of the abandoned train station — I know you’ve seen photos, every media outlet has photos of that hulking wreck. Well, that’s a nice safe location for such a thing, since none of the “one percent” is anywhere nearby…. I think they have events at a more centrally located park downtown, but again, not much of metro Detroit’s wealth is centralized downtown.

  4. animist says:

    Interesting article. It’s certainly plausible. But then, I’m pretty cynical.

  5. This isn’t about camping equipment

    Fortunately, the OWS people have pulled their own shell game.

    By making this about “getting these hippies out of the parks,” it has brought more attention to the OWS folks’ cause.

    I know I heard plenty of people say “When the weather turns cold, they’ll all go away.”

    Yeah – they aren’t in the parks anymore, but they didn’t cease to exist. They’ve got a ton a new Facebook friends and they’ve all been radicalized.

    We haven’t seen the end of this.

Leave a Reply

