For fans of donkeys or hamburgers

Bray'z donkey closeup
The main landmark in my neighborhood is the white tiled building with the donkey on the roof at the corner of the two main roads. Bray’z serves slider-type hamburgers with lots of onions, and you can smell the onions on some evenings as you drive by. As tempting as that is, I’ve yet to dine in this fine establishment, though I’ve lived nearby for fourteen years now. I probably should go once, in return for these photos.

There are several restaurants with similar names in metro Detroit, but it appears this one uses the “z” at the end to distinguish it from the others. There’s a website for Bray’s Hamburgers on the west side, but that’s completely different. You can tell, not only because they use an “s”, but because their donkey has the burger on its left hoof and the drink on the right. I’m sure some of my coworkers who are native westside Detroiters (or maybe altivo) know the whole story.

Bray'z, Hazel Park

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to For fans of donkeys or hamburgers

  1. zenicurean says:

    There’s something rather odd about a burger-loving donkey, isn’t there, though? I feel it’s only a few (albeit brisk) steps from all those animated foodstuffs on television who cheerfully try to get you to eat them.

  2. quickcasey says:

    Slider?

    Okay now Bray’z sells slider style hamburgers.
    Bray’s, who’s website you listed, are they also slider style? Like would you order multiple burgers for a meal? They look fairly normal sized in the video.
    For that matter, slider style may not mean slider sized.
    I do get to the Detroit area once or twice a year, and would like to try them.

    • songdogmi says:

      Re: Slider?

      That’s a good question… they do look fairly normal sized, and the smallest burgers on the menu seem to be too expensive to be sliders, though I have to admit that I don’t know what prices in that market have done lately. I will try to get to the Hazel Park restaurant to see what they’re like sometime, or maybe to the west side one with my cousin, who seemed to remember them fondly. For the sake of research, of course.

Leave a Reply

