Black Friday, bah humbug

Thanksgiving was good (all except the football game, which I expected Green Bay to win, but the Lions were ugly). Good dinner, good dessert, and good company at my sister’s house. Turkey Day was combined with a party for my great-niece Katie who turned two yesterday. My gift to her was a jack-in-the-box, which delighted both her and her big sister Sophia. After awhile I tried to remember the words to “Pop Goes the Weasel,” but the third line eluded me. This led to my nephew going to his iPhone to look up the words on a National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences website. And then followed the even more unlikely event of him looking up other children’s songs AND singing them!

No part of today has been spent inside a store, except for the stop for a coffee and newspaper on the way to pick up Mom. We had stores opening at 9 p.m. tonight to start Black Friday sales, and others opening at midnight. Starting this early is ridiculous bordering on insane. I heard a Target spokesperson saying that customers wanted to go shopping right after dinner. I think it’s more like big retailers could only expand their greed in one direction, into the only time they weren’t open before Christmas. Whether this helps their bottom line, who knows. One of my musical colleagues commented “After spending all year listening to people talk about how bad the economy is, Black Friday is a slap in the face.” I hadn’t thought of that before he said it, but I am pretty sure I agree. I don’t expect to shop anywhere tomorrow. I don’t need to be part of the madness.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Black Friday, bah humbug

  1. The Lions were a bunch of goons today, weren’t they?

    • songdogmi says:

      They were, indeed, and they made too many mistakes to support that kind of play. I just don’t enjoy watching games that get like that, either in football or hockey. I know they’re supposed to be rough, but there has to be a limit.

  2. maxauburn says:

    I know a lot of people who do all their
    Christmas shopping online.

    I bet that has to have an effect on the economy, at least as far as actual stores vs online stores goes.

    • songdogmi says:

      Overall, money spent online is equal to money spent in a store, on the face of it, though of course it hurts the brick-and-mortar stores that don’t have much of an online presence. Still, if every store is promoting this insane style of shopping where people get hurt in the process, I’d much rather stay safe in my home, and I have no guilt about that.

      They used to call the Monday after Thanksgiving “Cyber Monday.” I haven’t heard that phrase much this year, for some reason.

  3. changeling72 says:

    Sounds like you had a good day.

    Boxing Day here (the day after Christmas Day) is probably a bit like your Black Friday, although the shops would never actually open on Christmas Day evening. I can’t say I have any great urge to purchase a sofa or whatever that morning…

    • songdogmi says:

      It was overall a good day. I felt the effects of overindulgence later in the evening, but some antacids helped me through that.

      Stores don’t open on Christmas here … yet. Well, except for some convenience stores that never close. Movie theaters open on Christmas evening, which always seemed to be excessive, but that’s because for years some family members worked for theaters and they would always be lumbered with the Christmas shifts. The day after Christmas is a horribly busy day for shops, between people returning presents and people spending gift cards.

Leave a Reply

