Almost

I didn’t start thinking about writing anything in LJ till 11:38 this evening. I guess it’s no surprise that I missed the midnight “deadline.” But I have only been to bed once since I wrote last, so I think this kinda counts for today/yesterday/whatever.
     My new work computer (mentioned in Saturday’s post) is pretty nice. I mean, it’s pretty nice that I don’t have to deal with a slow, arthritic machine with outdated software. Of course, now this means they might expect more output from me, so all is not skittles and beer.
     At the gym, my trainer changed my routine from the old-school weightlifting I was doing for a few weeks to one that’s relies on just my body weight and is cardio and endurance oriented. The new routine kicked my butt as badly as the old one did. I guess that’s the point.
     It appears that the most recent DDOS attack on LJ has abated. I never really noticed this one. LJ said they had added a lot of capacity to absorb such things.
     All in all, it was a Monday, but not a terribly ugly one. Well, except for the cold front that swept through with a lot of rain, sweeping away the above-average temperatures of the last few days. Back to seasonal for here, I guess.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Almost

  1. maxauburn says:

    “It appears that the most recent DDOS attack on LJ has abated. I never really noticed this one”

    Yeah, it was pretty wimpy for a DDOS attack.

    I’m glad to see LJ has put up a force field to protect us here!

    Your workouts sound great!

    • songdogmi says:

      They’re definitely hard. The trainer pushes me harder than I ever would’ve pushed myself. My only regret is that I didn’t somehow start doing this years ago. I might not need quite so much remedial activity now.

      • maxauburn says:

        Yeah – the trick is to stay active as we get older. I do house and yard work, I clean my apartment weekly, and I help my mom with stuff, as well, which helps me get the excercise I need, though I was much more active when I lived on The Farm with George and Max.

  2. changeling72 says:

    I think we’re set for at least the second-warmest November on record – or autumn – or something like that. I’m not desperate for the cold weather to set in, but the unseasonably warm weather does seem to be confusing everything!

    • songdogmi says:

      It’s been a warmer November than usual here, so far 5.5°F above average in the first two weeks (calculated from this chart). We’ve also had less rain too, but that might be changing this week. I’m just about ready for the cold, although I don’t mind warmer-than-usual fall days. It’s the warmer-than-usual summer days I don’t like.

Leave a Reply

