Music and birds, that’s all I really need

CBC Radio 2’s show Tempo observed Rememberance Day, fittingly enough, and I caught part of it while driving to work. First I heard Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, 4th movement (Adagietto), adapted for a cello ensemble featuring Shauna Rolston (1). It had so much body, so much texture. I know playing pieces and parts of symphonies is not without its detractors but it seems this is one piece that stands well on its own. A few tracks (and a news broadcast) later, they played a most evocative piece, big forceful orchestra suitable for a mighty army. It put tears in my eyes and I had to sit in the parking lot at work to hear it all. I knew what the composer was doing, and I was totally sucked in. But I had no idea what it was until it was announced: It was music from the HBO series Band of Brothers (2). I never saw the series, but the music just blew me away.

But what came next was from left field. I finally shut off the radio and walked across the parking lot to the west door of the office building. Off to my right, over the soccer fields, a hawk circled, edging closer to me. I watched as I walked. It then straightened out and picked up speed heading east. There was a break in the clouds and I lost the hawk as it crossed the bright sky behind the pine trees near the door. I kept walking, onto the brick sidewalk next to the building … and suddenly the hawk was swooping upward on my side of the trees by the building entrance! It had been maybe 15 yards ahead of me and 7-8 feet off the ground, as if it was landing and changed its mind, or at least intentionally doing a fly-by. It was so close I could hear the noise of its wings as it pivoted and rose. It got to about treetop level—short trees, though, only about 15-20 feet—and continued north, behind me. I couldn’t identify it; buteo for sure, fairly light in color. Immature red tail, or something else? In a way it doesn’t matter. It sure was something to see.
___________
1. http://www.arkivmusic.com/classical/album.jsp?album_id=177800
2. London Metropolitan Orchestra, conducted by the composer Michael Kamen http://www.arkivmusic.com/classical/album.jsp?album_id=392091

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Music and birds, that’s all I really need

  1. Anonymous says:

    Your new laptop is incredible!

    Another DDOS attack?

    Oh well… it won’t last – and then,
    things will be back to normal here!

  2. tastyeagle says:

    It’s always neat to have a hawk nearby while taking a walk.

    • songdogmi says:

      Yes, definitely. I have to be careful when I’m walking while watching one in flight, in case I walk into a tree or signpost or something.

      I thought about trying to take a photo when it was soaring over the soccer field, but the camera was all zipped up in the case and I figured there wasn’t really time to get it out and turned on. I had brought the camera to try to get some pix for 11/11/11, but didn’t expect anything serendipitous like this.

Leave a Reply

