Writer’s Block: Hobby Lobby

  • Coins, especially pennies, nickels, and dimes, plus Statehood Quarters (of course) and dollar coins both silver and modern. I have some scattered “type” coins (one example of other denominations, like 2-cent piece, 3-cent piece, and old designs of modern denominations).
  • Stamps, but I haven’t done anything with my collection in decades.
  • CDs and LPs. A few artists I’ve collected large portions of their output include John Denver, Gordon Lightfoot, R.E.M., and jjfmi.
  • Books. Most of my library is random, but I have collected works by Jim Harrison, Neil Gaiman, Barbara Kingsolver, and a few others.
  • Souvenir pencils from my road trips. How nerdy is THAT?
  • I used to have a small collection of tube radios. I only have one left and it may not work, but it wouldn’t need much to make it work, I don’t think.
  • I have a comic book collection, but it’s not really much to write home about. The biggest part is from DC’s Vertigo imprint, and then some Furry comics (but not some of the iconic ones; see caveat in previous sentence).

There probably is more, I mean, I have a lot of boxes around here. They must be full of something. I would like to collect gold coins, but I think the gold market price is making that pretty much impossible.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writer’s Block: Hobby Lobby

  1. maxauburn says:

    What comic books did you enjoy?

    The Legion of Super Heroes is my favorite.. followed by Spider-Man, The Fantastic Four, and The Avengers.

    • songdogmi says:

      When I was in college, my friends got me a subscription to The Amazing Spider-Man. I don’t know if it was a gag gift, but it was pretty cool. When I was younger, I liked Spidey and Thor and Archie. I wasn’t big into Superman or Batman but I had a few of those. The Fantastic Four were pretty cool. I don’t have any comics from my youth, which explains why I’m not wealthy now. πŸ˜‰

      I got back into comics in the 1990s, a little after the publishers had branched off into non-superheroes with stories that could be called “mature themes.” The biggest series of those came from DC’s Vertigo line. Some of my favorites of those were The Books of Magic, John Constantine: Hellblazer, and of course Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman. I also would pick up just about any comic with a werewolf in it, for some reason. πŸ™‚ These are the comics filling the boxes in my spare room.

      I got a little into X-Men when my nephew was around 10 or so, mostly so I could have something to talk to him about.

  2. changeling72 says:

    How many road trip pencils do you have?

    • songdogmi says:

      Maybe about three dozen. There might be a couple of pens in there, but I get pens only when there are no pencils available. I should photograph that “collection”, which is still small enough to fit into a decorative pewter mug.

  3. jjfmi says:

    I have a “large portion of output”…? So THAT’s where all my outtake tapes went! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

