All voted for another year

It was a quiet election day here in Warren, “A Safe And Clean City” as noted on all the city limit signs (a topic for a rant some other day, perhaps). I got to the polls around 7:30, after work. In my city we were voting for city offices, along with deciding two property tax increases. The taxes were for city road maintenance and special education programs across the county, both things I thought I could support. I’m glad they’re actually asking the voters about tax increases, instead of just letting the loudmouth anti-taxers shout it down. Who knows, maybe the citizens actually would be OK with paying for the services they want.

I was voter number 189 in my precinct. I don’t know how many possible voters there are, but it seems like a low total, especially at 7:30 p.m. I had to wait only because I arrived at just about the same time as another voter. The place was pretty much empty except for us two and the poll workers.

Why do people hand out political leaflets outside the polling places? You’re not really supposed to take those materials into the polls. And I wasn’t going to stop and read them; if I didn’t know how I was voting already, I probably shouldn’t have been there. The best bit of swag I got was an emery board from a representative of one of the city council candidates. I hope she’s not giving them away out of some sort of gender stereotype. On the other hand, emery boards are useful for just about anyone with fingernails.

By 11 p.m. it’ll probably be known that my candidate for mayor did not win. (She didn’t do well in the primary, but it’s hard to when the incumbent gets 76% of the vote.) I’m not terribly concerned about the city offices, really. It’s not as if any of the candidates was obviously the next Roosevelt. I’ll be more interested in the tax issues, since that’ll mean money out of my pocket.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All voted for another year

  1. maxauburn says:

    Democrats did well here in Phila PA today; our dem mayor was re-elected. I helped see to that!

    I just said “No” to the political leaflet people today. I got to the polling place 5 minutes before they opened (At 7:00 am) so there was only one leaflet person there that early.

    I, too, find them annoying.

    What I find even more annoying is how the stupid people in my shitty neighborhood who are in line ahead of me keep bragging that they vote republican because they foolishly believe that the GOP cares about them.

    I hold my tongue every year when they say that. GOP only cares about the rich who will donate bigtime to their campaigns.

    NOT about the poor or even the middle class.

    THIS year – the people were quiet. Thank you!

    I was number 4 at the polling place! Yeah!

    Sorry your Mayoral candidate didn’t win.

    • songdogmi says:

      Boy, did she ever not win. The incumbent got 81% of the vote. Oh well, at least he’s term-limited now.

      Turns out the road repair tax passed, but the special education tax did not. I think the special ed tax would’ve funded new programs; I don’t think existing ones are threatened, though I don’t really know.

      I’m always amazed how many people of relatively little means think the GOP is their party. But then, I’m not sure either party is any good these days.

      Congrats on your mayor’s reelection.

      • maxauburn says:

        “I’m always amazed how many people of relatively little means think the GOP is their party. But then, I’m not sure either party is any good these days.”

        Agreed.

        I see the democrats as merely being the lesser of two evils.

        Not so sure about that anymore, though.

        It was George Washington himself who said as outgoing president that this country should NOT engage in bi-partisan politics, nor should it ever interfere in the affairs of other nations.

        He was a very intelligent man.

Leave a Reply

