Now THIS is scary….

On my way home from the gym tonight, going up and down the radio dial, I encountered the dulcet tones of the song “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer.”

No, I am not making this up. One of our radio stations, as of 5 p.m. today, October 28, switched to all-Christmas song format. Let me repeat the month for you, in case you don’t know if you read that right: OCTOBER. Just in time for Halloween.

See, I have independent confirmation of this: Time to carve that pumpkin to the sounds of the Grinch

If you’re looking for me, I will be off somewhere jamming ice picks through my eardrums.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Now THIS is scary….

  1. THIS is why I only listen to NPR on the radio.

  2. maxauburn says:

    This is why I don’t listen to radio stations anymore… not in at least 14 years!

    That.. and the fact that I almost never hear the music I love best (1962 – 1977) on any radio station.

    And when they do play an old song, it’s always the same old songs – no variation.

    Can YOU remember the last time you heard a song by The Move, Lothar and The Hand People, or The Knickerbockers on the radio?

    I can… and it was sometime back in the mid 1970’s!!

    • songdogmi says:

      I still try listening to radio. Sometimes I hear new songs on certain stations, and that’s what I’m really looking for. Well, either that or local news, traffic, and weather reports. If I wanted to listen to classic rock and pop, I probably have it at home already.

      I actually haven’t heard of three of the four musical acts you listed. I think I heard of The Knickerbockers, but it would’ve been years since I heard anything by them.

  3. zenicurean says:

    I think we’ll just have to take this to its logical culmination — Christmas season will henceforth begin one (1) day from the conclusion of the previous Christmas season. Delicious Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer for all, every day, all day, all through the year!

    • songdogmi says:

      The year without anything but a Christmas

      But what about the Boxing Day sales? (You know, the anniversary of when Joe Louis knocked out Max Schmeling in 1938.)*

      * Old joke. Sorry.

      • zenicurean says:

        Haha! (We can leave Boxing Day outside the new, more Christmas-y world order to give everyone a breather. But after that, it’s right back to a hellish eternity of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas and Winter Wonderland.)

      • songdogmi says:

        And every cable channel will show the film A Christmas Story every four hours.

      • zenicurean says:

        Repeating cycles of Capra’s It’s a Wonderful Life will make James Stewart think he’s actually stuck in Groundhog Day; by the time his sanity starts slipping, he’ll calculate he’s actually jumped off that bridge seven thousand times.

Leave a Reply

