Purple…not just for old ladies today?

Apparently it’s Spirit Day. One wears purple in solidarity with LGBT youth and to speak out against bullying (per the website). I don’t even own anything purple I can wear. My old Gotham City Cafe t-shirt is purple. It’s also a size large; it didn’t really fit me when I acquired it 15 years ago and 75 pounds ago.

I’m wearing blue jeans. Does that count for anything? I always thought that particular event was kind of dumb. Everyone wears blue jeans, gay or straight, and it’s nothing special. I think we can find homophobes wearing jeans, even on that particular day, and you’re not going to convince them that they’re suddenly friends of gayfolk.

(The subject line refers to the opening lines of “Warning” by Jenny Joseph, famous now in connection with the Red Hat society and for being a sensational senior citizen.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple…not just for old ladies today?

  1. zenicurean says:

    I didn’t know about this, but as fate would have it, I’m wearing something purple. Although I’m not sure if it qualifies as a statement now!

Leave a Reply

