Backpacking for my health

HikingLately I’ve been thinking about a three-day solo backpacking trip I took in Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore in June of 1991. I think I was fine when I left Detroit, but by the time I got to Hurricane River my back decided to flare up into a temper tantrum. I parked the truck, struggled into the pack, and limped to the trail. Not far from the beginning the trail goes uphill pretty significantly, and I thought sure I was insane and I really should turn back. But then what, to get back in the truck and go home? My back really, really, really didn’t want that. So I kept going, slowly, and somewhat painfully. Eventually I got into a reasonably good gait, forced into that in a way by the external-frame pack. By the end of the day I was kind of OK, and after sleeping on the ground overnight (I think it was kind of chilly, too, as early June on the shore of Lake Superior can be), my back was mostly pain-free. So the rest of the trip was fine. I hiked about 18 miles total, west to a small inland lake and back to Hurricane River. I grabbed this self-pic on day two, I think.

I’m thinking about this trip because my back has gone out, again. First time since I started working out in March. I’m keeping up the workouts for the most part, with only slight modifications. I probably wouldn’t if I didn’t have a trainer looking out for me. As long as my form is good, I’m not hurting much from the exercises. But really, what I probably need to do is go back to Pictured Rocks. Do you think I can get a doctor’s prescription for that?

P.S.: Here are all the Pictured Rocks photos I’ve taken over the years. I know there are more; I should dig them out, if my back lets me sit at my desk and scan them that is.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Backpacking for my health

  1. changeling72 says:

    Perhaps your back is telling you to go back? I hope it improves soon.

  2. maxauburn says:

    I think going back could be beneficial to you & your back.

    I like the pics you took!

Leave a Reply

