Eternal Flame
As usual, XKCD says it so well.* (Be sure to mouse over the image.)

I’m amazed how broken up I am about the death of Steve Jobs. I dabble in the Mac world, but have long been a PC user. (My work computer is a Mac; my home computers are Dell PCs.) I’ve managed to resist the siren call of the iPhone, though I have to admit maybe a small iPod would be nifty to have. Even so, I can’t help but admire the design genius (and marketing genius, too) behind Apple products. It’s fair to say, I think, that there’s a chance we’d all still be using command line (or at best Windows 3.1 *shudder*) on boxy beige/gray things without Apple pushing both software and equipment design forward. Not to forget Pixar. Where would animation be without that?

Maybe the thing is, he went so quickly after he left Apple. He was still very much in our minds as Mr. Apple. Or maybe it’s that there are so few great humans, ones who have talent and a vision and who can see them through, who can create something truly Big and still be someone people like and admire. You lose one, and you cannot help but hurt. But you also cannot help but be glad they were here to do what they did.

* For non-Mac people, the beachball, or little rainbow spinny thing, is what you get on a Mac when something takes longer to execute than it should, unexpectedly. It’s never a good thing.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. songdogmi says:

    A bit of levity, as only the Onion can do: Last American Who Knew What The Fuck He Was Doing Dies.

  2. rambear says:

    I honestly did not know he was involved with Pixar, that came as a surprise.

    I hold the iPad with a bit more reverence now. I got it from Apple with my name engraved on the back so it has that personal touch. And I do sorry for those who buy the new bargain tablets, they’re just not going to be the same.

    • songdogmi says:

      I have to admit that keying on a representation of a keyboard on glass doesn’t seem right to me. I like my keyboards to be more traditional. (Yes, I know one can attach a keyboard to an iPad, but that would seem to defeat the purpose.) The new bargain tablets aren’t quite iPads, but they are at least in a price range more people can justify, and eventually they’ll be more competitive, feature-wise.

      • rambear says:

        My companion is flirting with the notion of buying an iPad clone, but I can’t convince him it’s just NOT going to be the same thing!

      • songdogmi says:

        Yeah, there’s no way a “clone” will be the same as an actual iPad. I mean, I assume they couldn’t make other tablets all that similar to an iPad because of potential lawsuits. A tablet of any kind might still be nice to have, but you can’t expect it to do everything an iPad can yet.

Leave a Reply

