Good news, Citizens!

1. All the tree limbs and stuff that you could see in the photos from my last post have been chopped up and hauled away now. The tree contractor also thinned out branches still in the tree. I was surprised by how much work was done there, but if that means I won’t have a repeat of the tree disaster for a while, that’s fine by me.

2. Mom finished her IV antibiotics successfully on Sept. 2, and she’s been feeling pretty well since then. Even better is her return to sleeping as long as she wants to in the mornings, something I’m enjoying now too. (We were getting up around 6:30, which was two hours earlier than usual for me.)

3. Right after the last IV appointment, I whisked her off to the first-ever reunion of her nieces and nephews from her family, or at least as many as we could shanghai guilt into get to come. It was in Louisville, Kentucky, and we had a good time, even though the temperature got to 100 degrees on the day of the actual reunion. We followed that up with a trip the next day (when it was merely 80 degrees) to the Louisville Zoo, where we got to see young Qannik in the zoo’s new polar bear habitat. We also got really close and personal with one of the maned wolves, who spent a lot of time patrolling the fence while we were watching, unlike the last time I was there when the wolves were waaaay back so far I couldn’t really get a good photo. (Hm, reminds me I have some photos to post.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good news, Citizens!

  1. songdogmi says:

    Yes… I figured I owed it to LJ to post some good news for once. šŸ™‚

  2. jjfmi says:

    Glad to hear things are looking up there! I had to check the link for Qannik, though – for a moment, I thought someone had found the long-lost love child of Saavik and Quark… yikes!

Leave a Reply

