Big Brother Is … oh that’s too facile…

Google Confirms It Aims to Own Your Online ID
… This pretty much seals my lack of enthusiasm for Google+. I just don’t need to opt in to yet another source blaring advertising and e-commerce at me, even if — especially if — it is finely tuned to my “needs” as they define them.

The thing is, I think there’s a room for a verifiable identity for e-commerce, whether it’s for shopping or applying for jobs or interacting with government agencies. But for all the other stuff the Internet is used for, there’s too much to be lost there by the insistence on real names and pulling together all of one’s verifiable data. People are concerned about the possible chilling effects on political activism. That could be more of an issue than increased exposure to constant buy-my-stuff.

I’m rethinking my involvement with Google as far as it already extends. I haven’t found an RSS client better than Google Reader, though. That would be tough to give up. Also, I can’t help but think that, sure, I won’t join Google+, but Facebook already has its hooks in me, and what will they do that Google doesn’t want to do? Dilemmas everywhere I turn….

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Big Brother Is … oh that’s too facile…

  1. well and here, too … without a doubt this is being mined by the russians.

    • songdogmi says:

      Oh, certainly. The only difference is that Google usually succeeds smashingly at its goals (their prior social media experiences aside). I realized a while ago that it didn’t really matter, because the Internet is heading in a particular direction and in the end the only viable opposition will be to not take part, except that’s going to cut one out of a lot of activities. We’ll all be assimilated by one Borg or another.

      Ah, for the days when it the Internet was just a bunch of geeks and nerds. Sure, the graphics were worse, but it was simpler and more innocent then.

      • it’s rather like credit cards … very hard to do anything financial without them now, and lots of places won’t deal in cash.

      • songdogmi says:

        Exactly.

        One thing I don’t get is all the businesses that only accept job applications through a website, especially when the job doesn’t involve any computer-related work, such as movie theater usher. Um… why? Only because it’s easy for the managers, maybe.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Good news all the way around!

Leave a Reply

