Finally into, um, what year is this again?

Actually, it may be that I’ve only achieved 2008….
Phones

I got the phone on the left in maybe 2002? I don’t remember. The agent at the store said I’ve been eligible for an upgrade since 2004. (He really got a kick out of the old phone, and all I could do is grin and agree that it was quite the antique.) After years of dithering (no, really: I wrote about it in LJ at least a year ago), I finally decided on what to get: A basic phone of newer tech that came with a better plan. So, today I got the phone on the right. The plan will cost about $15 more a month than I’ve been paying, but it actually comes with some daytime minutes and a national reach — meaning no more roaming when I get more than 3 miles away from I-75 in Kentucky or north of Saginaw.

I’m now trying to decide whether to keep the old phone as a collectible or see if the Smithsonian wants it for their collection.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally into, um, what year is this again?

  1. songdogmi says:

    I know what you mean. My old phone would frequently beep to let me know there was a voice mail message and a missed call, but just 90 seconds earlier it was mute when it could’ve let me know there was a phone call coming. Or maybe I just missed it; it’s hard to say.

    Congratulations on your new phone. They’re something like cars: Great to have, but a terrible pox when something goes wrong or when they need to be replaced.

Leave a Reply

