Nice, round, hot numbers

When the weather prognosticators started saying it would be in the upper 90s yesterday, I started rooting for the high to get to 100 degrees. After all, 99 is just as hot as 100 (well, the difference between the two is so slight), and triple-digit temperatures here are rare enough as to be something to remember. It turns out that both Metro Airport* and City Airport reached 100 exactly. It was our first 100–degree day since July 14, 1995.

No, I wasn’t interested in going for another nice round number, 40°C (104°F).

I still don’t have air conditioning. That’s a saga I don’t really want to go into, except to say that (a) I have finally figured out what sort of unit I want, and (b) when you need it is not the time to buy it, since stores saw a/c units flying off their shelves early this week. I got home to my house last night around 11 to find the inside temperature had reached 88 degrees. BUT … I was pleasantly surprised that, once windows were open and fans were turned on, the house cooled down pretty well. I even had to get up around 5:30 to turn off the big exhaust fan in the living room window, because my bedroom was getting chilly. Believe me, I am not complaining about being chilly.

The next few days will be still hot, just not quite as hot. As for a/c units, I’ve pretty much decided that I will keep an eye open for them, but not press too hard. It looks like I’d have to order one online at this point, since stores don’t have any and probably won’t get any new stock in soon.

* Metro is the big commercial airport, 30 miles from me; City is the one closest to me, but is only good for a handful of private planes.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

