Decided lack of Bliss

As I write this, the closing act at Blissfest is about to segue into the closing ceremonies. I’m not there, which can be surmised by the fact that I’m writing this post. (No cell phone reception for my provider up at the Blissfest farm, see. Plus, I’d be … um, not on the phone. It’s a folk festival, after all.) It turns out that my mom “took ill,” as they say, though … well it’s been odd. She never really felt ill, but she had a reaction to one of her meds. We’re not sure if she accidentally took too much of the one med, or if there were other factors at play. The latter is more likely. Along with this, she has swelling in her left leg which was on the verge of getting serious attention from her primary doctor, except the med thing took precedence, so she ended up in the hospital basically for both issues. She’s improving, though they’re planning more tests and procedures and after that it looks like a nursing home for rehab and … well, she’s not happy, naturally. And I’m not really happy, either. I’m perfectly glad to be able to help her, of course. It’s just that I procrastinated about as long as I could on buying the festival ticket and still had to eat it in the end. Sigh. Well, it’s only money.

The hardest part about missing the festival has been, I was driving around on Friday evening, heading west, and the sun was an orange-red ball a few degrees above the horizon, sinking through a late afternoon summer haze… which reminded me of being on the hill at the main stage of Bliss, listening to the headliner act and watching the sun set just like that off to the northwest. It’s one of my favorite forms of natural light. I hope it happened there again, especially last night as Tom Rush’s set eased into Buffy Sainte-Marie’s.

The good news is, there’s still Hiawatha in two weeks. The bad news is, I’m not sure how well Mom will be doing even then, though she’ll probably be in rehab then, so maybe… ? Or maybe not. Won’t be able to know for a while yet. I’m definitely not buying a festival wristband till I’m actually there, this time.

Edited to add: Folk Alley went to Blissfest this year and broadcast some of it. We can see photos and listen to some of it at the link.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decided lack of Bliss

  1. changeling72 says:

    Hope your mum makes a quick recovery – and you make it to the next festival!

  2. Anonymous says:

    ((BIG HUGS))

    Hope Mom is better soon!

  3. songdogmi says:

    Thanks. She’s been making steady progress, and she might be releasaed tomorrow (Wednesday at the latest) to the rehab place.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Feh, meh! How frustrating this is. My hope is that she gets on the other side of this quickly. Summer, or any other time of year for that matter, is no time to spend in a health care facility of any kind. For either of you. Again I say FEH and MEH!!!!!

    • songdogmi says:

      Yeah, Fun is not being had, that’s for sure. Obviously Mom has it worse, because she’s in a hospital bed almost all the time, and it’s kinda crooked (somehow the bed slopes from right to left, or so it seems). But they’re letting her get up and walk now, as long as she takes her buddy (a.k.a. her I.V.) with her. The doctors are debating one more procedure, then she’ll be off to a convalescent/rehab facility for a while. I fear she will really dislike that, but she needs more physical and occupational therapy than Medicare will pay for through a visiting nurse.

      Her spirits have been pretty good, even though she’s unhappy with still being there.

Leave a Reply

