A bit of follow-up

The friend of whom I spoke on Saturday seems to be doing quite well. He had surgery to remove the bullet from his jaw on Sunday and was released on, I believe, Monday (Tuesday at the latest). Not only that, there’s a YouTube video of him playing one of his songs — guitar AND vocals! — shortly after his release. Sure, you can tell he has his jaw wired, and he can’t open his mouth very wide. “Probably shouldn’t be doing this,” he says. But he delivers the song pretty much as he usually does. (It’s a mellow song, by his standards.) He even still has his beard! You could not really see where he might’ve had surgery. Granted, it was not high-definition video, but still…

Many questions are yet unanswered, and as I alluded to in my last post, I’m not sure they’ll ever get answered. But the most important question, will my friend be all right, has been answered most satisfactorily, at least as far as I can tell. That’s the most important one in my book.

(Note, I’m still reluctant to mention who he is or what few details I know, for I think they’re not my details to share. I think that what I’ve written stands on its own without any names, because I’d probably feel the same way about any of a number of people I know.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit of follow-up

  1. changeling72 says:

    Amazing that he can still sing after such a major trauma.

  2. maxauburn says:

    Your friend is very strong and is a determined man.

    I admire that.

Leave a Reply

