A bad variation on “Went to a fight and a hockey game broke out”

They had riots in Vancouver last night? Really?

I thought it was just the hockey teams who were goons. I didn’t watch much of the Stanley Cup final, which the Boston Bruins won over the Vancouver Canucks last night, because what I did see … well, I’ve seen kinder, gentler Chicago Bears–Detroit Lions football games.

Granted, I’m from Detroit, so I can’t talk. But still.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A bad variation on “Went to a fight and a hockey game broke out”

  1. maxauburn says:

    Yes.. agreed.

    The rioters were just looking for the perfect excuse to smash up shit, and they got it.

    What a bunch of cavemen.

    • songdogmi says:

      That could be. The guys on the sports radio show this morning said that sports-related riots happen more often than one thinks, even in Canada. And I know that in a lot of these cases the ones causing the trouble are not the dyed-in-the-wool fans who have been with the team all season — they’re the ones who are looking for any excuse.

      At least it makes more sense to riot when the home team loses. I never did get why anyone would riot when the home team wins, like they did here in 1984.

      • maxauburn says:

        “At least it makes more sense to riot when the home team loses. I never did get why anyone would riot when the home team wins, like they did here in 1984.”

        Like I said before ….ANY excuse to smash up shit.

  2. songdogmi says:

    I’m sure there was good hockey. I just managed to tune into some of the not-so-good bits, and had too many other things going on* to watch a lot of it, especially since I had the sense that it was one of the rougher series.

    I thought Vancouver did this only for G8/G20 summits? 😉

    * Like Tiger baseball. They’re doing well, finally.

    • Actually, if you YouTube Vancouver Riot, you’ll find they’ve had a few. Like the one at the Olympics last year.

      • songdogmi says:

        I guess I’m surprised, but maybe I shouldn’t be. The first thought is that it’s so beautiful out there — though I guess in the middle of the city it’s like any other city. Plus the fact that it’s Canada, and one doesn’t usually associate Canada with rioting. (You have the uber-politeness reputation for a reason, after all.) BUT… all big cities have issues like this. And I have to confess I don’t know much about Vancouverites; maybe the city has attracted an element that’s more prone to this sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

