If I know only one thing,
it’s that everything that I see
of the world outside is so inconceivable
often I barely can speak.
Yeah I’m tongue-tied and dizzy
and I can’t keep it to myself.
What good is it to sing helplessness blues?
Why should I wait for anyone else?
     —Robin Pecknold (Fleet Foxes), “Helplessness Blues”

Oh man. These, right here, are the lyrics that grab me most on the entire Helplessness Blues album, which I believe to be, without hearing anything since, the best album of the year 2011. When I am not depressed, distracted by political or social inanities, or buried in tedious work, this is exactly how I feel. That wonder, that marvel, maybe at a landscape, or maybe at a very small being in it, at the dome of stars or at someone’s fascinating artistic creation. If only I could remember it always. I’d probably be quite the pain in the ass, saying “Look at this! This is so cool!” to everyone. But right now, in the dark of a cool summer evening, I know that this is the only way to see things.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

    • songdogmi says:

      Yes, ideally. Pragmatism needs to be part of life sometimes, and focusing on the not-so-fun things too. But … well, I’ll say that people who can no longer find a childlike sense of wonder at something have lost quite a lot.

      I fear I sound like a bliss-ninny about this. Maybe I’m just identifying this with my own particular brand of Internet-diagnosed ADHD*, unfairly. It just really resonated with all the times I saw a colorful sunset, or pulled the car over to watch a bird fly, or heard an incredible set of harmonies.

      _____
      * Mileage may vary. May not be valid in all fifty states or other countries. See your doctor to ask whether Internet-diagnosed ADHD is right for you.

  1. jjfmi says:

    I started listening to Fleet Foxes last year, following a mention of them here (your LJ)… I was convinced that they were one of the best bands to emerge in years, and the new CD doesn’t give me any reason to change that opinion. Incredible lyrics, harmonies, atmosphere… 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      After my first listen, I was kind of bewildered. But after I kept listening, I realized that the problem wasn’t them, but me. I hadn’t expected such a growth spurt. Usually sophomore albums aren’t this much more than the initial ones.

      Yeah, the lyrics, harmonies, atmosphere… I honestly don’t know how I would try to approach creating anything like it, myself. Of course, it helps that there’s six of them, but still…

Leave a Reply

