Weekend report

The weekend was fairly good. The weather here was unusually warm, especially on Sunday. It only got to 83°F (28°C), three degrees short of our record—still was summerlike, except for the trees which have no leaves at all, which was kind of weird. Saturday was busy: Oil change for the car, grocery shopping, and time at the gym.

In the evening I trekked up to Port Huron to see my friends jjfmi and Sharon Tse play at the Raven Café. The venue is in a building that’s over a century old and has been well restored—nice polished wood everywhere with quirky decorations. The food was fine, and the music was very good too. The only odd bit was, the second story is split; one half, accessible by stairs, is for diners, and the other part is over the door and accessible by a ladder set into the wall. I almost got vertigo when I went halfway up the ladder to look around. (I probably would’ve been fine if I’d just kept going up. . . or maybe not. Heights freak me out sometimes.) I was with a group of Sharon’s friends and family on the first floor, craning our necks to see John and Sharon play. It was a very nice evening, worth the 110-mile roundtrip.

Sunday was a bit quieter. Even though it was so warm outside, I spent a lot of it inside, then went out on a couple of errands and then took my mom out to dinner. It was such a nice weekend, it should’ve felt free to last an extra day.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend report

  1. songdogmi says:

    Summer may take its sweet time getting here. I am in no hurry for it. I don’t like hot temperatures much either.

    The idea of scaling a ladder to get to a stage does bother me a little. Fortunately the venue has a sound system, so there’s no lugging heavy speakers and amplifiers. Bad enough to take guitars up there. I think that’s why shows have two performers; it takes a tag team to get stuff up the ladder. Still, it is a very nice place.

Leave a Reply

