Weirdies vs. Weirdos

I use the dictionary a lot for work. (It’s often easier to look up how a word is hyphenated than to guess and be wrong.) My eye keeps falling on two adjacent entries, weirdie and weirdo, and it’s kind of enchanting. “Weirdie” is not really defined; my dictionary basically just says “see ‘weirdo’.” “Weirdo” is defined as “a person who is extraordinarily strange or eccentric.” Interestingly, the dates given for the first acceptance of these words is 1955 for “weirdo” and 1894 for “weirdie.”

Some quick poking around on the web sheds relatively little light. One source says that “weirdie” started off as a British slang, but got supplanted once “weirdo” became well-used in America. Another implied that there’s a nuance to “weirdie” that isn’t reflected in the terse Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary.

Me, I’d probably rather be a weirdie than a weirdo. However, I’m not sure that’s something to put on a résumé either way.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weirdies vs. Weirdos

  1. maxauburn says:

    I’d just as soon not accept any labeling.

    People do that too easily, and way too often.

    Hope you enjoy the weekend!

    Any plans?

    • songdogmi says:

      Weekend … I need to get the oil changed in the car, and buy groceries at some point. A couple of friends are playing a show on Saturday night in Port Huron, which is about 50 miles away, and I’m going to try to go to that. Sunday will be a lot quieter, I think.

      What plans do you have for the weekend? Hope it turns out very nice.

      • maxauburn says:

        I have no big plans for the weekend.

        I do need to do some housework.

        I ought to work on a story I’m writing.

        There’s LJ and Bear 411 to chat on.

        I’ll visit with my mom, and give my cat a lot of attention, too.

        It ought to be a quiet weekend.

        Enjoy the show tomorrow night!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yeah, it’s been ridiculously warm here in PA, too, with a high of 80.

    Days like today only remind me of how much I hate summer, LoL!!

    You take care going up those ladders, okay? I understand, because I have issues with heights, as well!

Leave a Reply

