Nonpolitical, for once

Seven weeks after my mother’s bypass surgery, she continues to improve. About two weeks ago she had fluid drained from around her lungs, and that improved things considerably. She’s now going shopping, walking regularly, and, most importantly, going to Bingo in her building again.

Work has calmed down since the Directory has been sent off to the printer (and has even been printed, such are the miracles of print-on-demand). I’m enjoying a return to mostly typesetting large-print books and going home at 6:30-ish.

hantsbear, you’ll find this familiar: I’ve joined a gym. It’s a brand-new facility that opened this week, and I signed the contract on the last day of their pre-sales, which means I got a pretty good monthly fee. Tonight will be visit #2. As much as I’d love to become fit enough to be a swimwear model, my main goal at this point is to simply avoid the problems that my mom has now.

And finally, it’s sunny and 54 degrees today (12°C). It doesn’t seem like much, but it makes people around here very happy in March.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nonpolitical, for once

  1. Glad to hear your mum’s on the mend

    It was a good Spring day up this way too. I wish I’d had more time outside to enjoy it. But the ride home from work was windows down, back roads, loud music and a big smile.

    C’mon Spring.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks 🙂 Mum’s healing is making me happy, for sure.

      I spent way too much time inside, but it was awful nice being outside after work. We ended up reaching 65°F (18°C).

      It’s best to not think about what they’re saying for late next week. Just don’t put the coat away yet. But I do believe spring is coming.

  2. jjfmi says:

    Good news about your mom – hope the healing continues!

    If you don’t mind my asking, what gym did you join? And what amenities? (Weights, treadmill, pool, track..?) I’m in dire need of something here…..

    • songdogmi says:

      It’s a new Anytime Fitness franchise that opened just west of Van Dyke on 9 Mile Rd. in Warren about 2 1/2 miles from my house. (They need to update their website now that the machines are in and the sign is on the building.) It’s smaller than other gyms I’ve been to, but everything is spiffy and new. The cardio machines include treadmills, elliptical trainers, and cycles (the more recumbent ones, not the upright ones). There are also weight machines, a good amount of free weights, a little bit of boxing related gear, and a small area for stretching and floor exercises. All the cardio machines have small flat-screen TV monitors (WOW cable, I think) with iPod docks, for when staring out the window at 9 Mile traffic gets too dull.

      Thanks for the good wishes for my mom. I hope your parents are doing well.

  3. maxauburn says:

    I’m glad your Mom is recovering well.

    Mothers are very special.

    Wishing you success at the gym!

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks. I think Mom is going to come to feeling better than she has in a few years, once all the healing is done. She’s walking a mile or more every day, which is a new thing for her, and very good for a lot of reasons.

      I’m pretty happy with the way my gym trips are going. The sessions with the trainer kick my butt, so the other ones I take a litle easier (but not too much). I’m glad to be getting back into a routine again with it. I’ve had a routine a few times, but have spent too many years on the couch recently. Gotta try to fix that.

Leave a Reply

