Politics fatigue

Last week, I thought I would burn this LJ up on writing politically themed posts, after Monday’s and Wednesday’s screeds. That didn’t turn out to happen, did it? I still have a couple of ideas, and the world is always generating more. I’m just not that good at it. Oh, I don’t mean the content; that’s neither here nor there. I mean the whole bit about doing it every day, and doing the work necessary to make that happen. I’m just easily distracted; my mind has been on other things since last Wednesday. It’s not as if there are expectations—no one’s expecting me to, say, fill Frank Rich’s shoes at the New York Times.

Late week, I noticed that I’m getting politics fatigue again. The long weeks of seething over the Wisconsin situation took its toll; the final result only added ruined relationships and destroyed trust in the process to the inevitable outcome. Now the scene is moving to Michigan’s capital and … to be honest, I just wish it wouldn’t. It’s not that I agree with everything our Republican governor is planning. I just don’t see the point for the fighting over it. The Democratic party in Michigan is weak and has no way to throw any weight around in Lansing. If Democratic senators decided to decamp to Toledo, they would not be missed. And, frankly, their ideas over the last eight years didn’t exactly prevent the economic disaster that Michigan has become. (Not that the Republicans, who controlled the state senate during the last four years of Gov. Granholm’s tenure, allowed anything to happen except gridlock.) Maybe it’s time to try something new. Hell, maybe it’s time to try something.

Don’t bring up the film tax credits program. How many laid-off auto workers or mortgage industry workers got film jobs, anyway?

Yeah, I’m sure THAT was a popular comment on my part. I wouldn’t want to defend it against the backers of the credit. I don’t even care; have a film credit, don’t have a film credit, it’s all the same to me. Just don’t go saying that killing it off will kill Michigan’s only chance at recovery. It wasn’t going to save us. If you notice, California has more going for it than a film industry. And its economy sucks, too.

I don’t even know what my point is, now. Fatigue, I tell ya. Maybe I’d be a good political commentator, but it’s too damn much work.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Politics fatigue

  1. Anonymous says:

    You have the “excuse” of the election being very close. It’s snippy, hypocritical, and petty here all the time now, it seems. Until recently, serious issues got very little discussion, though in the states now there is considerable controversy over budgets and correlated plans that appear to strike at the rights of labor unions. The discussion on these issues is still a bit off, as one side tends to be throwing around the name of Hitler a lot and the other side isn’t responding at all to any concerns—at least this is how it’s playing out in the media. I’m not sure Americans in general are very good at seriously considering political issues, though I’d love to be proved wrong.

Leave a Reply

