If you or someone you know is having bypass surgery, or really any surgery that requires breaking open and spreading the ribcage (ouch), know that you should expect six to eight weeks to recover just from the injury of having your ribcage broken open and spread. My mom and I didn’t really understand that; I don’t think the doctor mentioned it, and we didn’t think to ask. Even Barbara Walters’ documentary a couple of weeks ago was light on this detail, though one or two of her interviewees did say the recovery took longer than they expected. We finally heard “six to eight weeks” yesterday from a doctor who was actually satisfied with what he saw of her recovery to date.

The next doctor, though, was charged with looking further, and things aren’t quite completely right, as Mom has a little fluid buildup in areas where she shouldn’t have this. So we can’t say how hard it should be, I guess. Maybe we needed to do more Internet searching or something. Yeah, I now sound like a noob. (Hey, this blog ain’t WebMD, y’know.) Anyway… in case you’re wondering, there ya go; 6–8 weeks, though mileage may vary, I suppose. After that, you’ll probably really appreciate what the surgery did for you.*

(* Unless you get the surgery in extreme urgency. Then you’d probably appreciate being in pain and weak, as opposed to not being here at all. But this was not quite my mother’s case; it was just urgent.)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. songdogmi says:

    That’s pretty frightening. I’m glad he’s better now. I hope that’s not what’s happened to Mom. She still has discharge from the incisions on her leg where they got the veins for her bypass, but the fluid is still clear. Guess that doesn’t say much about what’s happening in her chest, though.

    Hospitals are no place to get well, so they say.

    • vaneramos says:

      Dad’s infection was accompanied by a high fever. If that appears, get her to the hospital immediately. In the absence of that, I wouldn’t worry, just be thankful she is healing!

      • songdogmi says:

        Fortunately she hasn’t been running a fever, though I haven’t thought to ask if she’s taking her temperature.

        I’m thankful, yes. She has a lot of good moments, so I’m hopeful she’ll be fine soon.

Leave a Reply

