Spam-ments

Has anyone else been getting comments on LJ entries from anonymous users that are spam? I’ve gotten six in the last two weeks, compared to about three in the previous seven years. Sometimes they’re on the most recent entry — I just deleted one from the shortwave radio post — but a couple have been on entries that are years old. Most comments are coming from the same block of IP addresses, but I can’t narrow it down very far.

Last week I changed settings to require a CAPTCHA from anonymous commenters. I’ve gotten four spam comments from anonymous users since then, so obviously that’s not really working. So now I’m screening all anonymous comments, so readers won’t see them. But I’ll still have to deal with them, which doesn’t exactly fill me with rapturous joy.

I’ve wanted to encourage anonymous comments (hoping they’re signed or otherwise identifiable), but I haven’t gotten a legitimate anonymous comment in months if not years. I expect I’ll end up banning anonymous comments.

Why do people have to spoil everything?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spam-ments

  1. songdogmi says:

    But I’m popular with the wrong crowd! My mom told me not to hang out with people like that!

  2. songdogmi says:

    I got a new spam comment last night and another one this morning. 😦 LJ is catching them only because I’m screening all anonymous comments now; I don’t think LJ catches spam comments on its own. It’s good that WordPress can catch them.

    • hellmutt says:

      LJ has the function to report comments as spam, which I do whenever I get one on my LJ. And LJ seems to strip most tags out of anonymous comments, especially links. But I don’t really know if the report-spam feature is actually teaching any algorithm somewhere.

      • songdogmi says:

        Ah, I didn’t realize that about the tags getting stripped out. That explains why most of them seem not only spammy but pointless. I’ve been marking them as spam, but I agree, I’m not sure what that actually does. Maybe that’s actually for reporting LJ users who inflict spam on others (users who get an account just to spam, I mean)?

Leave a Reply

