Beardiness

in the last half-year, I’ve actually had a few guys come up to me and ask how long it took to grow my beard as long as it was. It had been so long, I didn’t remember when the last trim happened. I had to go back through photos on my hard disk to find out: As of today, it’s been 22.5 months:
February 21, 2009January 9, 2011
The one on the left is from February 23, 2009, and the one on the right is from today.

This is pretty much the longest it’s ever been. It seems to have a “core” about 4-5 inches long and then there’s another couple of inches where it thins out considerably. I’ve been told by a certain senior family member that I should trim off the thinner part. (Yes, it’s 1981 and I’m 19 again. 😉 I’m resistant because I don’t think it’ll make the rest of it grow longer. I’ve seen a lot of people my age, male and female, trim their hair to get rid of split ends or something, and it never grows longer. But I’m kind of considering it. Definitely not till late February. Gotta make at least two full years.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beardiness

  1. songdogmi says:

    Thanks 🙂 When I trim it, the beard usually needs a week or so to start looking like it hasn’t just been cut; then it looks a little better. But I like it longer, myself.

  2. songdogmi says:

    Thanks 🙂 I think I’ll keep it long. I might try clipping some of the thin fringe to it, but not till that magic two-year mark (maybe it’ll fill in more).

Leave a Reply

