Follow-up to previous, or You like clicky things, right?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Follow-up to previous, or You like clicky things, right?

  1. tastyeagle says:

    I’m both a hopeless idealist and a hopeless cynic. I’d like to think that if enough people tell them what’s going on, they’d wake up and fix the problem. But I know that most dying websites like that would shitcan your letter. It’s only been happening for years now.

    I wonder what it’s like to work there.

    • songdogmi says:

      I had the same debate about DeviantArt when I had one last ad-related worm scare: Should I tell them about it or not? In the end I decided it was good to simplify my life, so I basically fired them without telling them why. I suspect DA should be more responsive because they’re smaller, but I’d seen some questionable interacction (or rumors, maybe?) that led me to think feedback would be no help.

      With MySpace, it’s a little more involved, because I do believe that an indie musician should be in as many spaces as possible on the web, especially if they’re free. They might not all yield a ton of results, but if I got a couple of fans on MySpace who aren’t on ReverbNation or Bandcamp, then that’s a plus. Not that I think a lot of MySpace users are looking for middle-aged folkie-types, but there might be a couple.

      I bet morale is a bit of an issue there, to be honest. They’ve fallen quite a ways.

Leave a Reply

