The ongoing saga

Last Wednesday my mom was scheduled to see the heart surgeon to discuss the bypass surgery she’s supposed to have, but that appointment was put off due to an emergency with another patient. Today was supposed to be the rescheduled appointment, but that was postponed due to another emergency (I hope with a different patient, because no one should suffer two emergencies in a week). So the rescheduled appointment is for Thursday, but who knows. At what point does my boss lose patience with me? (She probably won’t; she understands. But still.)

At least Mom and I got something done after all today: I brought her to my house and she started her Christmas shopping online. Her computer and dial-up connection does not handle e-commerce well. One of the gifts we bought was for, um, me. I wasn’t sure about this, but maybe I’ll forget what it is and be surprised on the 25th. Hint: It makes waffles.

Thanksgiving dinner was at my house. I finagled it so that I didn’t have to do much of the actual cooking, which is my usual approach, come to think of it. (It’s very stressful cooking all those items to come out at the right time.) I did have to wrangle the turkey, but I was mostly just the muscle as my mom directed the operation and inserted the appropriate stuffing. There were six adults and two toddlers, but everyone behaved appropriately. I discovered my brother-in-law likes football. Finally, something I can converse with him about! 😉

Dave came up for the rest of the weekend. It was extremely low-key as we both suffered from stress-related issues and a need for sleep. We did go out for dinner: Indian, Chinese, and Mexican, in order. Sunday night was spent listening to music, but not the usual classical repertoire. Remind me to go ’round to the neighbors to apologize for the Nine Inch Nails. (Um, was that too self-revealing?)

Now into the new week, and things are still pretty stressful, both with work getting very busy and the continued uncertainty over my mom’s appointments and health. I’m not getting much social time in these days, nor much music creativity. Perfect time to add the usual Christmas holiday activities, no?

Sorry about the near-whining. It’ll be better a little later, because I have a slice of pumpkin pie to ravenously attack consume then. Pumpkin pie fixes a lot of things.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

