Tech dreams

Y’know what I’ve always wanted? At least since I’ve been a computer-playin’ and -workin’ fool? I want the ability to have at least two character strings stored to paste quickly into a document. You get one via control-v (or Apple-V if you’re on a Mac), but I want two. Especially today, when I’m correcting a book about boats* and none of the italics was keyed into the original file, and it takes an “on” tag and an “off” tag to do italics. It would be great if I could control-c ‘<emphasis n=”1″>’ to paste with control-v, and, I dunno, control-um, er… ok I see the problem, but… maybe shift-control-c for the ‘</emphasis>’ tag?

I’ve needed this for years in all sorts of programs. Did it ever get implemented anywhere? What have programmers been doing, anyway?

*Captains Courageous, if you’re curious. Large print edition. And yes, no one was clearly thinking when they decided the on-italic tag should be 14 characters not including angle brackets.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tech dreams

  1. hellmutt says:

    They cheat by using progenvironments that auto-close tags. πŸ˜‰

    (When I use a different program from my usual, and find it auto-closing my HTML tags as I type, I get awfully confused and usually have to turn it off!)

    • songdogmi says:

      But my fancy-schmancy composition software doesn’t have that. We have other software that’ll do that, but it should’ve been used before I got ahold of the XML file. But that would’ve also required someone upstream doing more work to make the file ready. I probably really shouldn’t say too much more. πŸ˜‰

      I could assign the tags I need most to control keys, like f11=<emphasis n=”1″> and f12=</emphasis>. That is, if I can figure out how to use the keys I want without Mac OSX conflicting with them. That’s too much work. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

