Sunday News

My new furnace will be installed tomorrow, which means only one more night without heat. The furnace has been off since last Monday when the blower stopped working. I’ve done all right so far, even though the temperature inside the house has been in the 50’s all week. It helps that I’ve been away a lot. In a way, this reminds me of the 2009 Hiawatha Music Festival where it was so cold pretty much the whole weekend, only without the fiddle tunes, and indoors.

My mother is still in the hospital, though. She’s suffering some pretty serious heart problems and may be a candidate for bypass surgery. We’re still waiting to hear from the surgeon with his opinion. In the meantime, they’ve stabilized her symptoms and she’s getting a little better each day. I don’t think they’re going to let her go home anytime soon, though.

For a while, it looked as if tomorrow was going to be surgery day, which would’ve been a disaster for me because I cannot put off the furnace installation; the next open date for the contractor was a couple of weeks off. I would’ve had to find a house sitter, I guess. But as long as the hospital has my mom in good enough shape for now, I’m awfully glad to have Monday for the furnace installation. It’s not that I want Mom in a hospital, but things can’t be speeded along, and it’s working out ok for me.

I’ll be really glad when both of these situations are resolved favorably. But getting the heat resolved tomorrow is going to do quite a lot for me all on its own.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

