Continuing from Tuesday…

1. The laptop finally got connected to work’s network yesterday afternoon (with help from the IT dept.), just before the furnace guy arrived. But because of #2 and #3, I didn’t actually get to exploit the newfound functioning.

2. The furnace guy diagnosed the problem with the furnace as a seized blower motor, requiring complete replacement at about $500. But that would be a lot of money to put into an old, inefficient furnace. So I’m going to get a new one, which will be installed Monday. It’ll be considerably more efficient and will be eligible for the income tax credit (not at the maximum level, but a furnace that qualified for that would be impossible to install in my utility room).

3. I ended up taking my mother to the hospital last evening with a collection of fairly serious symptoms. By this morning they’ve stabilized many of them but discovered another one, which I’m being vague about, largely because I don’t know what it all means yet. It has the feel of something going “sproinggg!” late last week and causing a cascade of problems. The worrisome thing is that she’s still in the emergency department, even though she has been admitted to the hospital, because they’re waiting for an open bed in the ward where she should go (which one that is, I have no idea yet). When people ask me how she is, I’m saying she’s “puzzling.” But she’s in pretty good spirits, and they are making things like her blood pressure better.

Since there doesn’t seem to be much for me to do for Mom at the moment, I went to the office today and will go back to the hospital tonight. After that, I’ll probably go to the 24-hour store to look at their collection of electric space heaters. It was 54° in the house this morning. I was toasty under the blankets, but if I want a shower this week some heat needs to be found in the bathroom.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

