A Monday-like Tuesday

I’m attempting to work from home, but I can’t connect to work’s network because, I think, the VPN needs upgrading. A co-worker had the same problem a week or so ago, but I guess no one thought “Hm, other people might also be similarly affected.” So I’m kinda dead in the water.

I’m home because my elderly furnace malfunctioned yesterday — it started heating up but the blower didn’t go on, so it REALLY started heating up, till I shut it down. So it’s 58° in the house and I’m waiting for the furnace repair person to arrive. I think I’ve mentioned that the furnace is original with the house, so it’s 42 years old, which in furnace years is usually, well, dead. I like using things up, see. I’m going to have it repaired, but also get a quote on a new furnace and air-conditioning unit, unless of course they can’t repair it now.

The main reason I decided to repair the furnace if at all possible is, suddenly my mother has developed some new medical symptoms that have me concerned, not the least of which is a fall she took a few days ago. We’re waiting for her doctor to review things and get back to her with proposed next steps.

So, I’m waiting for furnace repair and I’m waiting for my mom’s doctor and I’m waiting for IT (who have just given me indication that they think I’m on a PC, not a Mac… oh joy). Wait, I already DID a Monday this week!

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Monday-like Tuesday

  1. Anonymous says:

    No change…

    … I’m still waiting for everything. But did you know you could make comments via Facebook? I’ve been seeing people do that in other journals. Nifty, eh?

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: No change…

      Well, to be exact, you make the comment in LJ but select “Facebook” and log in with your FB name and password. I myself don’t need this, but maybe someone from Facebook might want to. If I really wanted that, I’d probably have to get my LJ posts to appear on FB, which I know is possible but I haven’t enabled that yet.

      • songdogmi says:

        More about Facebook accounts commenting on LJ

        Then it’ll default to the FB account for a reply, unless you change it via the “More Options” button. And LJ will act as if you’re not a paid member and serve advertising, which may be relevant for anyone who might not like intrusive ads.

        This is really goofy, that I’m commenting and replying to myself, isn’t it? If someone doesn’t fix something soon (see original post), I’m gonna go nuts.

Leave a Reply

