Farewell to deviantART

I deactivated my deviantART account today. I suppose that once I got into Flickr, dA slowly slipped out of my habits. But I wasn’t terribly happy with dA, anyway. The biggest thing that affected me was the malware that my computer contracted several times after visiting dA pages. Their advertisements had a habit of being infected, especially on Friday nights when you couldn’t count on anything being fixed for three days. That alone scared me from visiting much during 2010. (Note: I never send them a complaint, and I probably should have. But their answer would’ve probably been “Upgrade to premium, and there’d be no ads.”)

I’ve also been disturbed by the drama that gets stirred up from time to time. I haven’t been personally involved, but what little I know has made me scratch my head. The last straw there was something I read earlier today: Apparently they’ve changed the new account creation screen so that you are forced to select either “male” or “female” for gender. This might not be terribly surprising except that they used to have an “other”. And, this might not be terribly bad except that when someone complained, staff gave at best boilerplate responses that turned defensive. Basically, they told this person that if ze did not want to select either “male” or “female,” they were welcome to not have an account. Now, if they react in this way on this issue, why should I expect them to react any better on any other issue that might actually affect me, like, say, their shoddy programming when it comes to worm-free ads?

It’s not that I quit dA out of solidarity with the differently-gendered community; it would be disingenuous for me to say that. The issue did make me realize that I wasn’t using deviantART anymore and it would be nice to reduce my footprint, so to speak. I’m simplifying my life, see. I like Flickr better, enough that I actually paid for it.

If anyone’s curious, here’s a link to a Flickr set of what was on my deviantART gallery.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farewell to deviantART

  1. animist says:

    I use Safari for ad-heavy web sites like DA; seems to confound the malware that’s looking for IE or Firefox

    • songdogmi says:

      I hadn’t thought of that… I’ve been reluctant to install Safari out of the possibly mistaken belief that having two browsers is enough. MySpace has given me the same kind of problems

Leave a Reply

