Busy Day

I voted first thing this morning. That went pretty fast. The only thing about it was, on the walk from the parking lot into the school gym where the voting was set up, there were about a half-dozen people handing out flyers for candidates. Why do they do that? I can’t take those into the polling place and let them be seen; that’s against voting law (or I think it still is). I had to fold it all up and stuff it in my back pocket before opening the door. But after that it all worked well, and I even got to work early afterward.

Not that it means a lot. I’m in one of the few safe Democratic districts (so safe they stopped robocalling me, except for one last night) in a state that’s probably swinging Republican otherwise. But there were local ballot initiatives and I wanted to make sure I voted on those, since those are the sorts of things that citizen involvement actually still can make a difference.

And then there was work. Nothing new or exciting there.

After work, I’m hosting the Tuesday open mic at AJ’s Music Café in Ferndale, substituting for jjfmi who’s away on a very important musicological research expedition. (Show starts at 8-ish, last person on stage by 10:45, call in after 6:00, 248-399-3946.) People had better come, because I practiced for this and my guitar has new strings.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

