At Seven

Today is the seventh anniversary of my first LJ post. Another fourteen years and I’ll be able to buy it a beer!

The thing I’ve noticed about LJ in the last year or two is that it’s resembling a neighborhood that has seen a few of the residents moving out and some of those who remain keeping to themselves more. (I’m from Detroit, so this is a familiar feeling.) Obviously I have to own up to my own diminished rate of posting and commenting, but I’m seeing less to read in other journals and the friends lists of others. I’m in no position to crack a whip over other LJers (“write more, dammit!”), still, I miss some of the posts and comments from people who’ve drifted away.

I’ll set aside the issues with the sequence of LJ’s parent companies. I do not claim those issues are unimportant. What’s perhaps more salient, though, is the theory that Facebook and Twitter have been distracting more bloggers than any problems with SixApart or SUP’s administration of LJ. I don’t exactly understand that in one way, because Facebook and Twitter serve different purposes from LJ’s (and Blogger’s, Dreamwidth’s, WordPress’s, etc.). Yet I know myself that the amount of time I spend on both Facebook and Twitter leaves me less time to create for LJ. Maybe that’s the real issue, the whole thing about time being finite. I have pondered the idea of moving my blog, but can find no better place for it right now than LJ, and that’s largely because it’s not the host that’s ultimately the issue. Besides, I still like the community here and how well that’s facilitated by the software.

Speaking of community, “although it’s been said many times, many ways,” I greatly appreciate the people who read and comment here, as much as I appreciate being able to read and comment on the journals of the people who write here. Thank you.

And now, for what’s really important… Statistics!

Journal stats:
1,343 Journal Entries, 131 Tags, 14 Memories, 100+ ScrapBook Files, 0 Virtual Gifts, 17 Userpics
4,040 comments received, 4,645 comments posted

Total comments: 4040

1 songdogmi 1671
2 altivo 420
3 jjfmi 284
4 ferndalealex 238
5 hellmutt 205
6 Anonymous 120
7 georgelicious 114
8 animist 102
9 mysannthropy 88
10 primroseburrows 80
11 zenicurean 61
12 bonezman 55
13 tissuesan 48
14 tastyeagle 33
15 ogam 29
16 petit_mort 27
17 blackiethedark 26
18 rambear 26
19 bill_bill 24
20 nergye 24
21 amarannth 24
22 shadowbear_ 24
23 keanubear 23
24 robearal 22
25 ducktapeddonkey 19
26 vaneramos 19
27 aaron_of_mpls 18
28 songdog 17
29 fatbearman 16
30 a_siegel 16
31 ladymam 14
32 stitchjock 13
33 ext_227120 13
34 hantsbear 11
35 b_vainamoinen 10
36 changeling72 10
37 urso 7
38 chipuni 7
39 bigbear4xl 7
40 mystic506 6
41 eselgeist 6
42 envirobear 6
43 bitterlawngnome 6
44 twobraids 5
45 banjobraids 4
46 bullmanx 4
47 benpanced 3
48 wet_in_sf 3
49 truckerbear 3
50 kitaspath 3
51 saltedlithium 2
52 neonnurse 2
53 yogabear 2
54 las 2
55 westwind_mv 1
56 the_reach 1
57 yibesalt 1
58 obsidianbear 1
59 artamonio 1
60 kasanga 1
61 thenextcentury 1
62 ilexv 1
63 furr_a_bruin 1
64 hannahkelly 1
65 worthitt 1
66 offdutydane 1
67 innerwolf 1
68 venkat20 1
69 walruswoman 1
70 bachelor_farmer 1
71 chrisglass 1
72 alan_gilmore 1

Generated by LJ Comment Stats.
Note: #9 and #21 are the same person, so if you combine those stats (88+24=112) she’s in 7th position. Plus my comments shouldn’t count, but I’d have to edit every row in the table and I have to wash my hair.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to At Seven

  1. vaneramos says:

    Happy anniversary. I’ve felt the loss, too, and yes, I have more demands on my time than I used to. The weird thing about Facebook is I joined long ago and have connected with all kinds of people I know “in real life”, but LiveJournal still feels more like home, probably because it gives me the right structure to reflect on what I write.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks! I agree with you about Facebook, and the way I’ve connected with people but it’s not like LJ. I suppose it’s possible to write notes on Facebook in the style of LJ, but the notes feature on FB is not very robust or easy-to-use. I find when I’m using Facebook, often I actually don’t want to read lengthy pieces there, because I’m just quickly scanning to see what the “news” is. I always seem to go to LJ for reading.

  2. chipuni says:

    I like the general structure of LiveJournal… but the current owners’ insistence on wringing every last penny from LJ (advertising, advertising, advertising) drives away casual writers.

    • songdogmi says:

      The advertising is pretty obtrusive. I don’t see it much, being a paid user, but I was using my friend’s laptop without logging into LJ to see how bad the ads are and, yep, they’re a pain. I wonder if there’s growth or decline in the number of new accounts per month or year on LJ. I wouldn’t expect growth.

  3. animist says:

    LJ still has a place in this Twitter world; especially for those of us with more to say when we do post. One nice thing about the reduced posting here is a reduction of the LiveDrama posting. Twitter and Facebook seem more drama friendly, and the limited number of characters in a post is not problem for those who write like a text message.

    • songdogmi says:

      Good point about the LJ drama. I’m sure there are still pockets of it, but it is reduced. I don’t get the “need” for drama in the social networks. I know some of it happens inadvertently, but there’s some stuff that you just wonder why the person felt the need to go wading into that swamp. I especially don’t get it on Twitter, but to me a good use of Twitter is to tell a joke or post a short anecdote, not to incite drahmah.

  4. jjfmi says:

    Congrats – and happy anniversary! (Did that come out right?) =:-o

    Hey, I made the top three! (OK, even the top TWO, if you discount your own comments…) 🙂

    I don’t post nearly as often as I used to, or as I’d like, but I still read my LJ entries… One of these days, I’ll actually have something worth posting again! 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    #2 and #33 are also the same person, of course. ;p

    I’ll note here that I still post daily, just not on Russian mafia territory. *grin*

    • songdogmi says:

      Very true. But adding both together doesn’t change your ranking. 😉

      I’m glad you still post and comment. It’s nice that your DW account is syndicated here, though I’d follow you anyway (via Google Reader, at least).

  6. Anonymous says:

    I agree with you 100% about Gotham. I have no reason to support (monetarily or..morally?) a place that is just going to serve as a hang out spot. While I appreciate everyone’s enthusiasm it just seems like there is no focus and I for one have no desire to go to a dirty basement and pay for bad coffee. I hope something catches on with them all though, it’s nice to see people revved up about something.

Leave a Reply

