Econ Smackdown!, We Ain’t Detroit, and Pogo!

Especially for zenicurean: Will Paul Krugman be Shamed Into Debating an Austrian Economics Wunderkind? … “Shamed” is a pretty biased word, but that’s CNBC for ya. “Enticed,” maybe”? Anyway, the idea is that a donation of $100,000 to a New York food bank is at stake if Dr. Krugman, noted Keynesian economist, agrees to debate Dr. Robert Murphy, noted Austrian School economist. The article does not say who specifically is putting up the cash, just “libertarians.”

Oregon Town Considers Dumping ‘Detroit’ … Will that make your town better? Maybe we should try it…. But they’re only going to change from “Detroit” to “Detroit Lake,” which I can’t really see as being a lot different.

Sinfest’s got Pogo … does my excitement over this make me seem old? I do not care.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Econ Smackdown!, We Ain’t Detroit, and Pogo!

  1. zenicurean says:

    I’d be highly surprised if Dr Krugman in any way felt it was worth his time. In case he doesn’t, let me offer you a counterfactual scenario to describe how it perhaps might’ve went:

    Krugman: I’ve got some aggregates!
    This Other Guy: But I’ve got some axioms!
    Krugman: Aggregates are so much better than axioms. You’re stupid. I’m going home.
    This Other Guy: No! Axioms are much better than aggregates. You’re stupid. I’m going home!
    The Media: Uhh.. who exactly won here? Guys? There were long words and… guys? Who won? Oh, to hell with it, we’ll just each pick the one we like and go with him.

Leave a Reply

